Meet WCAG standard

How to meet WCAG

WCAG is an international standard for web and digital accessibility. There are four WCAG design principles: 

Each of these has success criteria that your service needs to meet. It’s best to factor these in when you start to develop a digital product or service, as it can be costly to do so later.

Test for compliance

Automated testing tools 

You could start testing WCAG compliance by doing an automated test. There are a range of products to help you do this. Note that automated testing tools can’t test for all WCAG requirements. You will still need to do manual testing. 

Google Lighthouse is free to use through the Google Chrome browser. You can find it in ‘developer tools’ under the ‘accessibility’ heading, with information on how to use it. 

Manual testing 

You’ll need to do some manual testing to cover all your bases. See Google advice on how to do a manual accessibility review to check WCAG requirements. 

You should also check that your multimedia content meets WCAG 2.1 AA compliance. See NSW Government’s guidance on using captions and transcripts for videos

Testing with browsers and operating systems 

Test that your service works with the below browsers and operating systems. Check that you can still access all your information, and everything remains usable. 

  • Internet Explorer 11 
  • Google Chrome - Latest version on Windows/OSX* 
  • Mozilla Firefox - Latest version on Windows/OSX* 
  • Safari - Latest version on OSX* 
  • Android Native Browser - Latest version* 
  • iOS Native iOS - Latest version* 

Typical responsive breakpoints for smaller devices 

  • 1200px 
  • 992px 
  • 768px - hamburger menu engages below this rendition 
  • 480px 

Testing tools

Last updated